skip navigation

Softball Coaches Association overhauls all district -- all state process

02/09/2017, 3:30pm CST
By Bob Tomlinson

Number of districts cut from eight to four -- large and small school separations now exist

Here are some items of interest when it comes to the Wisconsin Fastpitch Coaches Association in general; districts, all district and all state changes.

First -- Jeff Hodgson, Head Coach at Belmont and President of the WFSCA resigned the position of president in late summer. Former Thorp Head Coach Brad Ceranski agreed to take on a role as Interim President.  The WFSCA Executive Board also appointed Greg Lampe, former Oak Creek Head Coach as Executive Director to handle the day-to-day business of the WFSCA.

As reported earlier today on this website the WFSCA also requested that the WIAA assign motels to teams qualifying for the state tournament, a change from all previous years where the school would have to procure rooms for the trip to state. 

The WIAA will now conduct a session for Head Coaches whose teams qualify for the state tournament. That has never been done in the past.

In restructuring News for Districts and All State Teams the new method came out of a the WFSCA meeting conducted on October 2nd. The Executive Board enacted a new method beginning in 2017 which creates four districts with each district selecting a Large School and Small School All District Team. That Large School All District Team will be made up of players from Division 1 and Division 2 members schools, and the Small School District Team will encompass players from Division 3, 4 and 5. 

At the All State Level, a first and second team will be recognized for both Large and Small schools along with some Honorable Mention selections.  Of course only players whose Head Coach is a WFSCA member will be eligible for nomination to these post season honors. 

With the eimination of four districts a couple changes in district rep personnel also took place. Here is a breakdown of the districts with the Conferences in each district along with the Large and Small School Reps on the WFSCA Executive Committee.

District 1 Conferences (Northwest Region of State)
Large School Rep - Tom Drohner, SPASH
Small School Rep - Dave Bjorge, Arcadia

Big Rivers - Cloverbelt - Coulee - Dunn/St. Croix - Great Northern - Heart O'North - Indianhead - Lakeland - Marawood - Middle Border - Mississippi Valley - Wisconsin Valley - Ashland High School -- Superior High School

District 2 Conferences (Northeastern Region of State)
Large School Rep - Tim Whitford, Winneconne
Small School Rep - Sue Stoltenberg , Wausaukee

Bay - Central Wisconsin - East Central - Eastern Wisconsin - Fox River Classic - Fox Valley Association - Marinette/Oconto - Northeastern - Northern Lakes - Packerland

District 3 (Southwestern Region of State)
Large School Rep - Jeff Agnew, Fort Atkinson
Small School Rep - Jeff Hodgson, Belmont

Badger North - Badger South - Big Eight - Capitol North - Capitol South - Dairyland - Ridge & Valley - Rock Valley North - Rock Valley South - Scenic Bluffs - Six Rivers East - Six Rivers West - South Cental - Southwest Wisconsin - Southwest Activities League - Wisconsin Little Ten

District 4 (Southeastern Region of State)
Large Schoo. Rep - John Ruffolo of Kenosha Bradford
Small School Rep - Roger Schliewe - Horicon
Big East - Classic Eight - Greater Metro - Midwest Classic - Milwaukee City - North Shore - Southeast - Southern Lakes - Trailways - Wisconsin Flyway - Woodland - Faith Christian High School - St. Anthony High School

For more information on the new format or any information on or about the WFSCA contact your District Rep; Brad Ceranski at Fall Creek High School or Greg Lampe, Executive Director.



Tag(s): Home  Get the News